Numerous archaeological finds show that the area of today's Vodice has been inhabitated since the Iron Age. Favorable natural preconditions, like plenty of drinking water, fertile ground and the mild climate, have always attracted people to settle there.
The main agricultural cultures of the area were olives, grapes and cherry marasca.
Arausa, the old name of Vodice, was mentioned for the first time in written documents in 1402. The meaning of the word "Arausa" is actually "a water source", describing the most important advantage of this area.
In 1412, Vodice came under the Venetian rule. In order to defend from frequent Turkish attacks, the town was surrounded by walls and towers in the 16th century. The fortification system successfully protected town during several Venetian - Ottoman wars.
After the fall of Venetian republic at the end of the 18th century, the wider area of Vodice came under the Austrian rule. After a short period of French rule (1806-1813), Austrians took over again and maintained their governance until 1918.
Church of St. Elijah the Prophet - Devout inhabitants had built this church in 1298 and it was the first church in the area. Although the church is in a state of disrepair nowadays, there are still mass celebrations held once a year, on 20 August, the St. Elijah's Day.
Church of the Holy Cross -
The church dates from 1402 and boasts valuable Romanesque - Gothic stoops at stake.
Various cultural manifestations and exhibitions are held in its interior nowadays.
Coric Tower - The tower was made of stone from Brac in 1646. It was built as a family mansion but its castle-like appearance testifies on constant fear of locals during those turbulent times. The charming ambient of its yard is today used as an open air cinema in the summer months.